My first bass guitar

My first bass, an early 70s Hagström Swede
My first bass, an early 70s Hagström Swede

I started playing bass around 1982, in my local “Ten Sing” youth gospel choir. I picked up this bass along with a Fender Bassman 100 amplifier, and used it for about a year.

The Hagström Swede is a Les Paul shaped short-scale bass, with a scale length of 30.75″. It had a wonderful, old-school thump, which I didn’t really like too much when I owned the bass! I wouldn’t mind getting it back now, however.

The thump was not exactly what I was looking for, so I soon started saving up my funds for a new bass, and the dream was (of course) a Fender bass.

Back to the Hagström, though. It had a mahogany neck and body, probably an ebony fingerboard with block inlays, two chrome covered humbucker pickups and a Tune-o-matic type bridge. I soon discovered this bridge was rather impossible to intonate properly. The bass was quite nice to play, I seem to remember it had a decent action. But it was a string breaker, especially since I had discovered the funky bass lines of gospel music.

It was a beauty, though, and served me well for about a year. It’s one of the few basses I would love to buy back if I could. And now it seems I could, as they just released a new version of this bass!And now it seems I could, as they just released a new version of this bass!

Leave a Reply

